Arjuna Awards

Arjuna Awards

The Arjuna Awards Instituted in 1961, given by the Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports, government of India to recognize outstanding achievement in National sports.

The award carries a cash prize of ₹ 5,00,000 (5 Lakh Rupee), a bronze statue of Arjuna and a scroll.

From 2001, the award is given only in disciplines falling under the following categories:

  1. Olympic Games, Asian Games, Commonwealth Games, World Cup, World Championship Disciplines and Cricket
  2. Native Games.
  3. Sports for the Physically Challenged.

Arjuna award:

  1. Type: Civilian
  2. Category: Sports(individual)
  3. Instituted: 1961
  4. First awarded: 1961
  5. Last awarded: 2018
  6. Cash award: Rs. 5,00,000